Ko3 to Ko3S turbo upgrade

kubenmd@gmail.com
Enlisted
Registered for: 7 years 2 months

Ko3 to Ko3S turbo upgrade

Post by kubenmd@gmail.com »

Hi All,
i currently have a jetta 4 1.8T AGU motor (110kw) version with a downpipe only.

i am looking upgrading the turbo from the standard ko3 to ko3s.

i know this may not be a big jump, but its my daily driver and i want a little more power.

i am gonna do software remap with the upgrade. i am also looking at maybe putting in a bigger intercooler in the front.

i am looking to do minimal changes as possible (due to limited funds), hence the ko3s upgrade as i beleive its a straight bolt on.

what would i be looking at cost wise for the upgrade excluding the software remap?

i am no expert, but the liitle i think i know is all based on reading other threads/forums,

any help and advise will be highly appreciated.
Jetta2
Field Marshal
Registered for: 17 years 3 months
Car Make: VW, VW, Aprilia
Car Model: Mk3 Golf VR6, Mk4 Caddy, RSV4
Membership No: 1087

Re: Ko3 to Ko3S turbo upgrade

Post by Jetta2 »

Software cost? Speak to software supply people. Anywhere between R2000 and R6000 for a remap.

If I remember correctly, you will need the K03S intake pipe as well because the Ko3 one is smaller. Not sure if my info is correct, maybe someone can chime in with better info.

Or you can just do software on the stock turbo setup and get decent gains and not have to pay for a K03S, intercooler, etc. Unless you already have the items or can get them for a very good price.
Ryan Demoser

1996 Mk3 Golf VR6
2017 Caddy Maxi Crew Bus 2.0 TDI
2013 Aprilia RSV4 track toy
2021 Aprilia RS660 road bike
kubenmd@gmail.com
Enlisted

Hi Jetta2,
software is R2500.
yes i also believe i need the Intake Pipe.
i don't have any parts, wanted to know more or less what the conversion would cost me (that's with buying the ko3s turbo etc).