Decent workshop in Joburg area.

maybeanothergolf
Enlisted
Registered for: 9 years 10 months
Car Model: MK6 1.4 TSI

Decent workshop in Joburg area.

Post by maybeanothergolf »

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to JHB and my MK6 1.4 TSI 90KW needs some TLC. Clutch needs attention (slipping with the idle clattering noise), needs a service and some diagnostics to hesitation when accelerating.

I can't bring myself to pay the VW dealer rates. Can anyone recommend a decent 'shop around the Randburg area where I can take my car and know it will be in good hands?

Any tips will be much appreciated!
missioner
Major
Registered for: 10 years 3 months
Car Make: VW
Car Model: '87 MK1 Golf Citi

Re: Decent workshop in Joburg area.

Post by missioner »

@Jetta16v

You in Randburg, do you have a recommendation?
'87 Golf 1 Olde Skewl OEM+
Neuk
Treasurer
Treasurer
Registered for: 18 years 4 months
Car Make: Volkswagen
Car Model: Touareg 3.0 V6 TDi R-Line
Membership No: 806

Post by Neuk »

maybeanothergolf wrote: Sat Oct 23, 2021 10:05 am Hi Everyone,

I'm new to JHB and my MK6 1.4 TSI 90KW needs some TLC. Clutch needs attention (slipping with the idle clattering noise), needs a service and some diagnostics to hesitation when accelerating.

I can't bring myself to pay the VW dealer rates. Can anyone recommend a decent 'shop around the Randburg area where I can take my car and know it will be in good hands?

Any tips will be much appreciated!
Ray at Solid Cafe/Solid Racing Developments in Strijdom Park, next door to Garage 72 on the same premises as Carnoisseur Wash.
Current Garage:
Daily Drive: 2014 VW Touareg 3.0 V6 TDi R-Line
Project Fes: 1982 VW Golf GLS 1.5
Project FeO: 1966 VW Type 2 Transporter Kombi Split Window

Previous Garage:
Roxy: 2015 VW Golf R
Vagon: 2005 Audi B6 A4 1.8T (140kw) Avant
Project XXXX: 1967 VW Type 3 Variant (Squareback)
Project Betty: 2005 Polo 1.9 TDI (PD130) Sportline
Weekend Warrior: 1993 Volkswagen Caddy 2.0 16v ABF on ITB's
maybeanothergolf
Enlisted