1.2 TSI Oil Consumption

WarrenMeinking
Enlisted
Registered for: 5 years 8 months
Car Make: VW
Car Model: Polo 1.2 TSI HL

1.2 TSI Oil Consumption

Post by WarrenMeinking »

Hi there! I am in some dire need of advice.

I have a 2014 Polo 1.2 TSI Highline (currently 62 000km), and I noticed that was using oil, when I stopped to put in petrol one evening and by chance checked the oil. That evening, I had to put in 2.5L of oil, (an absolutely absurd amount, I know!) best of all, my oil light wasn't even on. A few evenings later I had to top up again, this time by around 200ml.

With this I went to VW Claremont and began the Oil Consumption test process. The results came back to say that that the usage is "in spec". The same outcome was met at VW Barons N1 City. Obviously unhappy with the outcome, I looked in the owners manual, and it is stated that the car is allowed to use up to 1L of oil per 2000km.

I am no mechanic but that is ridiculously high for a little 1.2 engine. I suspect the oil is being burnt somewhere, as there are no oil drops or marks, but there is oil residue in the exhaust. Now and again I will also see a puff of smoke coming from the exhaust. I also had a compression test done at VW Barons N1 City, and they also said the readings were "in spec".

The car is still under a Mastercars Warranty and I don't know what to do anymore. All I want to know is if I have a engine ring fault, maybe pistons, or if it is something going wrong with the turbo.

Any advice would be very much appreciated how I can go about this further.
panic-mechanic
Panic's Place
Registered for: 21 years 8 months
Membership No: 79

Re: 1.2 TSI Oil Consumption

Post by panic-mechanic »

known issue. persist with the complaint.
Stephan van Tonder - Jhb - Putfontein Benoni
'05 Audi A6 3.0L TDI Avant
'09 Touareg 3l TDI
'13 VW CC 2l tdi (repair project)
'05 Touareg v10

Perfect Power dealer. I do dyno tuning.
missioner
Major
Registered for: 10 years 3 months
Car Model: '87 MK1 Golf Citi