VW jetta mk2 1.8 8v CLI 1989 pining (knock???)

AJS
Enlisted
Registered for: 4 years 10 months
Car Make: VW
Car Model: MK2 CLi 8V Jetta

VW jetta mk2 1.8 8v CLI 1989 pining (knock???)

Post by AJS »

Hi I'm new at this so here it goes. Every time that I accelerate the vehicle from 3500 rpm to 5500 rpm it pings very loud at times in all the gears even when driving at 120 kmph and accelerate to 140 or 160 kmph. I replaced injectors because of misfire when cold and standing for awhile. I tuned and set the fuel system (k jetronic) myself and learn a lot from it. Setup as it is now. VW Jetta 1.8 8v CLI EV engine stock standard, K Jetronic system, Fuel pressure. System pressure 5.4 bar. control pressure 2.2 bar cold / 3.65 bar hot. Timing 5-6 degree idle 890 rpm CO% 1.5. Spark plugs NGK BP6es 0.8 gap. 350000 km engine never been open. 3rd owner and vehicle still going strong when not pining. Any info will be helpful.
AJS
Enlisted

Re: VW jetta mk2 1.8 8v CLI 1989 pining (knock???)

Post by AJS »

Hi me again. It pings more when hot. Please any advice
VAG Fan
Lieutenant
Registered for: 8 years

Post by VAG Fan »

When did the pinging start - what was the last thing you did before that?

What do you mean by "tuned and set the fuel system myself"?
... Did you compare the four lines for equal metering, i.e. same quantity injected on all four lines, at all angles of the air flap?
... Is the air flap unrestricted?
... Did you check that the air/fuel ratio is correct throughout the whole rev and engine load range? (E.g. exhaust gas tester on a dyno.) CO is only adjusted for idle, but may be incorrect at load.

Did you check that the system pressure and control pressure are actually maintained when the engine is under load? If not, the fuel pump may be failing.

Is the valve timing correct?

Does the distributor have centrifugal and vacuum advance, and are both within spec?
Mark R.
- - - - - - - - - -
2004 VW Golf TDI, type 1J, AHF, 317k (2016-current) --- daily