kyle90
Enlisted
Registered for: 10 years 8 months
Car Make: VW
Car Model: Golf MK1 1.4

Citi Golf Carb Setup

Post by kyle90 »

Hi everyone,

I have a 2002 1.4 Citi Golf. I recently had issues with it idling. I then bought a carb kit and changed everything. Not being a mechanic I didnt take much care to where the mix screw was set as well at the needle screw. Needles to say its not running the way it should and its also using far too much fuel and its still not idling.

I got the following number off a sticker on the carb. Not sure if this is the carb model 17S 129 017A

I'd greatly appreciate any assistance in getting my carb set up.

Many thanks
Quik-Trix
Lieutenant
Registered for: 15 years 7 months
Car Model: '84 Mk1 2.0 20v ITB's
Membership No: 3004

Re: Citi Golf Carb Setup

Post by Quik-Trix »

so did you change all the jets and put the new gasket on that came with the kit?
kyle90
Enlisted

Post by kyle90 »

Yes I did, replaced everything as well as the think gasket that goes under the carb.

There is a large screw on the top of the carb which adjust the needle I think which is for the float level. i have also fiddled with that and not sure where it should be.
King8v
Lieutenant-Colonel
Registered for: 11 years
Car Make: Chevy
Car Model: Sonic 1.6 LS B&W

Post by King8v »

Just a q where did you buy this and how much did it cost?
****My VW goes BWaaaaaaaH Ppsshh****

My ride: http://vwclub.co.za/forum/viewtopic.php ... i&start=25
Quik-Trix
Lieutenant
Registered for: 15 years 7 months
Car Model: '84 Mk1 2.0 20v ITB's
Membership No: 3004

Post by Quik-Trix »

kyle90 wrote:Yes I did, replaced everything as well as the think gasket that goes under the carb.

There is a large screw on the top of the carb which adjust the needle I think which is for the float level. i have also fiddled with that and not sure where it should be.