DIY - Replacing a Wheel bearing/Hub on a Golf 5

Forum for questions that are asked on a frequent basis...
Forum rules
Please take a look at the rules for posting on the VWCSA Forum as all posts will be moderated accordingly...

VWCSA Forum Posting Rules and Guidelines
G_baby
Enlisted
Registered for: 10 years 11 months

Re: Can a wheel bearing go at 90 000kms?

Post by G_baby »

So I finally did my wheel bearings and heres a DIY guide for anyone else doing this. First off, a HUUUUGE HUGE thankyou to Viper from goldwagen delarey. This man went out of his way to help. Turns out my golf was the last of the golf 5's so vw decided to use the golf6 style "3 bolt" wheel bearing. The codes on the booth sticker listed both of the G5 bearings. Viper called vw(more than once) to find out exactly which bearing my car used. So once again thanks Viper.
PS. Im not a professional mechanic(Im in IT). But changing a wheel bearing is'not rocket science either. Use this guide at your own risk.

So here goes...First on the list is secure the rear wheels.

Remove the wheel roundel

The 27 bolt going through the CV is normally very tight. Mine wasnt really tight. I used some q20 here to help loosen the bolt.

Go ahead and loosen the 27 bolt. Some might use a mutispline socket here, Mine was a normal hex bolt. Then loosen the wheel nuts

Jack the car up and put it on a jack stand. A jack is not a jack stand. Then remove the wheel.

Open the brake fluid reservoir.

Use a screwdriver like so and pull towards you to push the brake caliper piston in a bit.

I used a cloth between the screwdriver and the brake disc to prevent the brake disc getting scratched/damaged

Remove the caps over the brake caliper floating bolts
G_baby
Enlisted

Post by G_baby »

This should reveal 2 torx bolts(top and bottom). Remove the torx bolts and slide the caliper over the brake disc and out.

Make sure you tie the caliper. we dont want to damage the brake hoses.

Remove the torx screw holding the disc in place